Fearless Crusaders

 

Last Friday was a great day.

In fact I can name it  as the  ‘Survivors’ Day’.

Nearly 10 patients who are long time survivors of 5-20 years came for review on the same day, by random coincidence. It certainly makes one feel happy to see them leading normal lives without any fear

I was particularly happy when Suhasini, a young lady came in with a broad smile. I was very glad to know that she was operated 6 years ago for Colon cancer.

She asked me, “Doctor, can I start my family now”?

I was thrilled as I know that she was single when she got operated.

I said, “Certainly, I would like to meet   the wonderful young man who accepted and married you”. She said he is on the way. “We were courting before I was diagnosed but he never left my side and continued to be my support. After 5 years he convinced his parents and even my parents that he will be with me forever”. As she was saying this her husband walked in. I am genuinely proud of this young man. There are so many instances where engagements are broken after diagnosis not just in a young person but even in their parents. In a society with so many unfound fears and superstitions, this couple stood like a shining beacon. I assured them that everything is fine and they can have a wonderful family.

I do have many instances of such remarkable couples who not only fought the disease but went on to lead their lives with full vigour.

Hats off to such fearless crusaders.

Leave a Reply

